

# **Indiana Water Resources Association**

http://iwra.info

# The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 19, 2025

Dear Members and Friends of the IWRA,

The IWRA would like to welcome you to attend the 44<sup>th</sup> Annual Indiana Water Resources Association Symposium 2025 at **Abe Martin Lodge in Brown County State Park, June 25-27, 2025**. This year's annual meeting will explore intersecting themes ranging from principles of hydrology and water resources to explorations of innovative solutions for water-related matters. This multi-day symposium will continue its now decades long role as a leading platform for knowledge exchange and collaboration for partners in water resources, statewide and beyond. Sessions and activities will focus on tools and insights to inform structured decision making for future water resource management decisions. In the spirit of the IWRA goals, expect diverse topics related to the many aspects of water resources to foster open communication across the water resources community.

Details, the call for abstracts, and sponsorship opportunities are forthcoming, and we hope you will share this information with colleagues who may be interested in participating in or attending the symposium. We are considering an activity or field trip – please share ideas for activities in South-Central Indiana. We are excited for the opportunity to serve as a catalyst to bring the IWRA community together this coming summer.

#### Officers for 2025:

- President: Garth Lindner, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, glindner@dnr.in.gov
- Secretary: Ginger Davis, Indiana Geological and Water Survey, gindavis@iu.edu
- Treasurer: Joe Schmees, The Nature Conservancy, joseph.schmees@tnc.org
- President-Elect: Aubrey Bunch, U.S. Geological Survey, <u>aurbunch@usgs.gov</u>

### 2024 Symposium Recap:

The IWRA held the 43<sup>rd</sup> Annual Indiana Water Resources Association Symposium on November 7, 2024, at MADE@Plainfield, Plainfield, Indiana. The symposium was sponsored by the Indiana Water Resources Research Center and INTERA. Thank you to all volunteers, in particular Sally Letsinger, for the hard work towards a successful 2024 Symposium. Sally's continued commitment and dedication to the community as a whole are deeply appreciated.

Scott Morlock (U.S. Geological Survey) and Harold Templin (Indiana Department of Environmental Management) were posthumously awarded the Bechert Award. The Charles H. Bechert Award is presented to a member of the water-resources community who has contributed significantly to water-resources activities in the State of Indiana.

Yu Peng (IU-Indianapolis, Graduate) and Maddie Milharcic (Purdue University, Undergraduate) were awarded best student presentation awards after a lively (nice!) poster session.

### Interested in nominating an individual for the 2025 awards?

Please submit a nomination for the IWRA Charles Harold Bechert Award and/or the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards for presentation at the 2025 symposium. The Bechert Award celebrates lifetime achievement of excellence in water resources, whereas the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the goals of IWRA:

Promotion of research and technical, social, economic, advances in all aspects of water resources; Collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media; Relating the needs of water-resource institutions for specialized services or guidance to qualified professionals; or initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Nomination forms are available on the IWRA website along with more information about the Bechert Award and the IWRA Outstanding Achievement Awards: <a href="http://iwra.info/forms/IWRA\_award\_nomination\_form.pdf">http://iwra.info/forms/IWRA\_award\_nomination\_form.pdf</a>

Please send your nominations to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov.

The deadline for nominations is May 30, 2025.

### **Know someone interested in joining IWRA?**

Join your colleagues by becoming a member of the IWRA! To join (\$34) online, go to: <a href="https://iwra\_membership.eventbrite.com">https://iwra\_membership.eventbrite.com</a>; or to avoid processing fees, download this form <a href="http://iwra.info/2025/IWRA\_Membership\_Form.pdf">http://iwra.info/2025/IWRA\_Membership\_Form.pdf</a> and mail it along with your check to our treasurer. You can also renew your membership for 2025, although if you attended the 2024 Symposium in Plainfield, IN, in November 2024, your registration included a complimentary membership for 2025. Please support IWRA and our student scholarship program. Thank you for your support!

Regards,

Garth Lindner
2025 IWRA President
Indiana Water Resources Association

Promoting Water Resource Science, Management, Education, and Communication for Professionals and Students

http://iwra.info

**THANK YOU!** We thank those individuals that supported the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund in 2024: Bob Autio, Tony Bailey, Mark Basch, Laura Bowling, Keith Cherkauer, Ginger Davis, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Jeff Frey, Art Garceau, Rajindra Gosine, Rosemarie Hansell, Luke Johnstone, Dave Knipe, David Lampe, Sally Letsinger, Jeff Martin, Martha Clark Mettler, John Mundell, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, Doug

Opell, Andrew Pappas, Mark Pyron, Monique Riggs, Chris Ritz, Joe Schmees, Troy Weaver, John Wilson, Oliver Wittman, and Lorraine Wright. Your support of the scholarship fund is critical for enabling student participation at our meetings.

WELCOME! We are almost back to our pre-pandemic membership level! Our current members include: Bob Autio, Tony Bailey, Kate Barrett, Mark Basch, Judith Beaty, Bill Blomquist, Phil Bonneau, Laura Bowling, Eliza Brown, Matthew Burlingame, Sarah Caffery, Beth Carter, Shuo Chen, Keith Cherkauer, Kristi Cox, Kendall Daniels, Ginger Davis, Laura Esman, Liberty Flora, Danielle Follette, Bella Foster, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Jeff Frey, Marty Frisbee, Arthur Garceau, Raj Gosine, Glenn Grove, Andrew Gustin, Fikru Hailu, Rosy Hansell, Matt Hardebeck, Seth Harden, Shannon Hayes, Jeff Healy, Mark Hopkins, Mark Howell, Eliza Hudson, Maria Iturbide-Chang, Kristi Johnson, Luke Johnstone, David Knipe, Timothy Kroeker, David Lampe, Sally Letsinger, Zhiying Li, Garth Lindner, Randy Maier, Allison Mann, Jeff Martin, Martha Clark Mettler, John Mundell, Shawn Naylor, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, Mary Claire Noble, Doug Opell, Andrew Pappas, Erica Penna, Angie Plank, Harvie Pollard, Vickie Poole, Mark Pyron, Gretchen Quirk, Sarah Reilly, Monique Riggs, Chris Ritz, Jane Roberts, Martin Ryan, McKailey Sabaj, Joe Schmees, David Scott, Halis Simsek, Maggie Sullivan, Adam Thada, Cary Troy, Rachel Walker, Jaron Walling, Phil Ward, Troy Weaver, Jit Weir, John Wilson, Jack Wittman, Oliver Wittman, and Lorraine Wright.